Programming Stuff

5_28_14_rts

Playing around with procedural generation and isometric tilesets. It works, but it looks like something straight out of the late 90’s. I don’t know how I feel about that.

What it does: I created a basic tile preset, which is only a quad. Then I run a map generator script that will fill an array of tiles by instancing the preset. Then random materials are assigned to each tile (I am working on making this more “believable” instead of pure random. Probably perlin noise or something). The edges of the map are just objects appended after the map is done. Then rocks are put in random places. Unity seems to take quite a minute to build a 64×64 map, which is unusual, as my older projects could pump out 128×128 maps in less than a second when I programmed in just XNA.

Leave a Reply

