3D Project: Interior work

3DsceneRender1

I’ve been working steadily on my 3D scene project for class. The entire scene is blocked out, and now I need to work on creating textures. I also need to populate the store with books and other various items which are easily be sculpted in an hour or less.

I model the props in Blender (my preferred polygonal modeling package), and take full advantage of Blender’s UV unwrapping tools. I find Maya 2013’s UV tools to be frustratingly limited, and Roadkill isn’t a habit of mine. I export an Ambient Occlusion bake (an image that stores the dark nooks and crannies where light is trapped on objects) and the UV layout for texturing. Once it’s all done, I drop it into Maya and stage everything. I also set up VRay shaders on each object.

Leave a Reply

